• No categories

Moorabbin is a suburb that is situated fifteen kilometres southeast of Melbourne’s Federation Square. The word Moorabbin is derived from Indigenous links to land, its meaning differing between the Wurundjeri perspective defining it as “a resting place” and the neighbouring Bunurong people regarding it as “mother’s milk.” It is home to approximately 5300 residents, 3 primary schools, a TAFE, a few parks and a significant industrial area that lies east of Chesterville Road. This industrial zone includes both small-scale production and multinational manufacturing. The train station is located in the middle of the Frankston line and underpasses both the Nepean Highway and South Road in the southern corner of the suburb. This is also the retail precinct of suburb. Under the moniker of the Moorabbin Junction, it’s currently the subject of a major council and trader-driven rethink on planning and landscape. In 1962 Bates, Smart and McCutcheon designed the Moorabbin Town Hall. It’s now the City of Kingston’s Arts Centre, defunct after the City of Moorabbin’s dissolution in 1994. Moorabbin sits in the Federal Division of Hotham and the State Electorates of Bentleigh and Brighton. In late 2012 the landmark clock tower was restored and renovated to feature a multi-coloured illuminated clock face.

MOORABBIN (2014) is a temporary bureau for the civic, commercial and social representation of a suburban locale – it is open for 14 days.

Production assistance: Therese Keogh, Justine Makdessi, Sophie Panigirakis, Lachlan Petras, James Taylor, Jessica Xuan

Guides: Della Louise Butler, Gemma Crocetti, Georgia Hillebrand, Eve Pawlik, Georgia Powell, Miranda Price, Claire Mosley, Thomas Odgers, Rosina Prestia, Madeleine Slater, Elle Stephenson, Lenore Whiteside

1991 Moorabbin logo: Noni Edmunds

Banner and t-shirts – 2014 Moorabbin logo: Riley Bacon
Holmesglen Vocational College (Moorabbin): Scott Kirkby, Zach Johnstone

Moorabbin Primary School: Maria Kakavoules and Noxia Angelides

Year 5 Moorabbin Junction cardboard model: Katie Boyle, Connor Cook, Will Crawford, Lily Davidson, Emine Easton, Joshua Glassock, Adam Horan, Ronan Keating, Asher Lithgow, Thomas Mackie, Sahrie Morgan, Sian Ross, Galen Sullivan, Katelyn Wilson, Hamish Adams, Peter Anthakis, Luke Funnell, Susan Lee, Darcy Lugt-Falk, Bryn Macnamara, Marie Michael, Jackson Michaelis, Grace Morgan, Nacia Harris Panagopoulos, Smith Jesse, Emily Thoma, Daniel Tweedale, Nami Ubrihien-Shimonishi, Jasmine Wilson, Daniel Adams, Xenia Christo, Emma Collins, Nara Dentry, Jake Harber-Murray, Dylan Hartney, Emma Morley, Emilija Nestecka, Callum Ridgway, Aaliyah Saroor, Ashlan Sharp, Lauren Shields, Joshua Sirik, Adam Smith, Nicolas Tsiakos

Year 1/2 R cat and Angus colouring: Amira Abielias, Abigail Bligh, Emma Bloom, Jake Burrage, Alex Crawford, Bastian Davis, Amelie Denham, Bailey Gibson, Jett Gittos, Jye Hartney, Furion Herd, Cassia Hull, Gracie Jones, William Lonergan, Isla Macnamara, Paddy McCallum, Ben Mclean, Ashley Peric, Jasmine Perry, Irena Saakova, Joshua Schultz-Brotto, Zarra Singh, Sienna Tessari, James Thomas, Saskia Wilkeson

City of Kingston Council: Aidan Mullen, Urmi Buragohain

Moorabbin Junction Street 14 idea competition winners

Easy Street, Tyrrell Studio (Winner $20,000)
Heat Street, Alastair Jaffray and Wendy Walls (Best Urban Tactic Award)
Double Garage, Planisphere (Best Urban Tactic Award)
More Moorabbin, Tom Harper and Brock Hogan (People’s Choice Award)
Chelsea McDonald (Community Prize Winner)

Atrium Screen
Moorabbin City Pipe Band in Geelong 2014 (6.17 min)
Heat Street, Alastair Jaffray and Wendy Walls (5.45 min)
The old Moorabbin Town Hall Clock tower – structural and remedial works completed by the City of Kingston in 2013 (2.23 min)
The Steam Locomotive Society of Victoria 50th Anniversary video (24.21 min)

Gould League – Amy Stace-Smith; The Steam Locomotive Society of Victoria – Doug Saunderson, Petre Zerbe; Moorabbin Signs – Bob Pankhurst and Daniel Jackson; Hoyts Food – John Accardo; Coca-Cola Amatil – Jennifer Tosich; Jumbo Ugg – Kylie Kniese; Kookaburra – Leigh Watts; Nature’s Gift – Nick Millar; National Gallery of Australia – Victoria Perin; 2 Brothers Brewery – Andrew and Dave Ong; St Kilda Football Club – Georgina Day; Harry Hawker – Chris & Judy Hawker; Corner Lamp Books – Charlie Rooke; Nichols Crowder – Meaghan Nichols

Thankyou: Tony Aravidis, Kate Barber, Tamsin Green, Bianca Hester, Louise Irving, Alex Lyne, Vikki McInnes, Scott Mitchell, Jeph Neale, Dimitra Panigirakis, Tony Panigirakis, Aaron Warren